Alignment of headstock and tailstock centres

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LiviChris

Reaction score
I'm a hobbyist woodworker but haven't ever done any turning. I have just bought a second hand Luna BWL 406 lathe, it's in great shape, looks like it's been well looked after but I've noticed the tailstock centre is 1 or 2 mm lower than the headstock centre.

is this a problem, do i need to work out how to adjust the tailstock upwards so they match exactly?

are the centres seated correctly? In theory it doesnt matter for spindle turning because it is always a straight line between 2 points, but I think that it is worth looking at the cause.

Yes, they should align correctly, but as Marcros says it is not too important for spindle turning. If you were doing copy turning with a tool held in a machine, then it would matter as it would turn a taper not a cylinder. But for hand held tools, you adjust automatically to wherever the axis lies.

The sort of time you would get into trouble would be if you held the work on the headstock and turned an indentation, then tried to put the tailstock centre into the indentation. But more commonly, you would out the indentation in with the tailstock, or else have it indented before mounting the work.

The only time you would notice is if you make a piece, then use a drill in the tailstock to put in a central hole. A big drill will be so stiff that it will still drill OK but make a hole bigger than the nominal size. A small drill will be flexed by the workpiece having a different centre, and might break.