Just to say Hi

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

donrecardo

Reaction score
Hi , just saying hello as I have just joined the group.
I am brand new to scroll sawing and have just bought a saw.
I couldnt afford much now that I am a pensioner and finished up getting a
Scheppach SD1600F , thats the one with the flexible drive to attach dremel tools.
It was at a good price so although I would have liked a Hegner or Excalibur I bought what I could afford

I really fancy having a go at intarsia so have ordered Kathy Wise book Intarsia Woodworking for Beginners
The one with the frog on the front

The other interest I have is wooden gear clocks . I have made a start on Brian Laws clock No19
though I have to admit I didnt own a scroll saw when I started it last week so I used my laser instead.

I know for intarsia I need some nice woods to do it justice with all the different colours but where in england can I buy it
in the sizes and quantities we would use , even better is there some where in the midlands I can buy it from so I can collect
rather than pay high postage ( Im in Redditch , just south of Bham).

Well I expect you will hear from me a lot more when I suddenly realise there are a lot of questions I need answers to

Don

Yes welcome to the forum, a lot of really knowledgeable helpful people here.
Besides direct questions the search feature can bring up a lot of interesting results too.

Hi Don
I’m sure you will find lots of answers in these forums. I did when I first started with intarsia.
I read loads and loads of older post in the scroll saw section and found them interesting and informative.

In regards to wood for intarsia. I too found it difficult to find a timber place that sold hardwood. I did eventually find one after a lot of searching but the wood is not cheap. I still can’t get any kind of wood either.