Help required with raised panels.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LFS19

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm making some raised panel internal doors for the house.
I'm far from an experienced woodworker, so with this being a raised panel door I'm in need of a bit of assistance.

I've knocked up the frame easy enough - mortice and tenons, the only joint I'm capable of doing well so far! :lol: and I've cut all the grooves for the panels to fit into.
Now I'm up to the panels I really need to think about what I'm doing because I've never done it before.
There doesn't seem to be much info online about making internal doors from scratch, though I did find this video by Paul sellers (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MAezwdKjN2Y) where he teaches you how to raise a panel with a No.4.

This was appealing because I don't own any of the machines people typically use to raise a panel. A lot of people online seem do them with a table saw (I have a circular saw but I imagine that would be very ungainly), and while I have a very good Elu router, it's quarter collet; so won't be taking any of those big, kitchen fitters bits.
While the Paul sellers vid is appealing, I imagine it is no where near as easy as it looks. getting those edges crisp and the corners of the panel meeting the corners of the board I fear is beyond my skill level.

I'm not really sure what I'm asking for, but I guess just some advice and tips about how to tackle this. What would be the best method to approach this?

Thanks!

If I understood correctly, this is your situation: No table saw, router too small, hand tool skill set not adequate.

If you plan to paint everything, you could glue up the panels from three pieces of 1/2" mdf.
The outer two layers you can bevel or use some router bit to liven them up some.