Building a desk - seeking advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vivavilla86

Reaction score
Hi all

Found this forum today and signed up as I'm looking for some general advice. A little bit about me first - I'm relatively new to woodworking although have just finished a 6 week beginners course which taught me a few basics (and let me get my hands on some power tools!). I've wanted to try my hand at basic furniture making for some time and having recently moved house, I felt like this was the right time.

I've set myself a target of creating a desk for the corner of my study area. It will comprise of two drawer units and a curved L-shape on top (I would post a picture but I don't seem to have permission to).

Basically I'm just looking for some advice from more experienced people - what I'll need to get started, drawer building tips, how to achieve the curve etc. I've watched a LOT of YouTube videos and feel fairly confident in the theory behind it, but ultimately I've realised now I just need to actually have a go at it. I have yet to invest in any tools or materials, although given this is something I'd like to take seriously, I am willing to invest in tools I can use for future projects as well. I'd be interested to hear what tools people would recommend picking up for this, as I've thought about getting a table saw but have also had a circular saw recommended to me instead. I don't have anything in terms of a work bench yet either so would need to pick one of those up, if necessary.

Thanks for your time! :)

I think many of us would recommend building a bench as your first project. It will be enormously useful for building a desk, and will give you practice in much of the same kind of construction. Besides, mistakes on a bench can be considered as battle scars, but a desk you use every day is a different matter.