Using Pewter

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alexf

Established Member
Reaction score
I have started to use pewter inserts and collars as part of my turnings. Can anyone advise the best way to stop the wood being blackened when trying to blend the pewter with the wood. This is of course happenning when sanding the piece.

oak by any chance? The Tannin will be reacting with the copper in the pewter. Can't help with stopping it though as I have no experience of doing that

Wiley Online Library -
Corrosion rate and inhibitive efficiency was calculated for two series of tested samples (metals and alloys). An inhibitive effect of tannic acid concentration and immersion number in tannic acid solution on metal and alloys corrosion was described. Copper appeared to be the most resistant metal to corrosion in the presence of tannic acid.

I suspect it's just the lead that's doing the colouring. I've this problem to come, I picked up a couple of cheap pewter tankards to melt down. It's probably good to nearly finish polising the woodwork before working the pewter.

You could try a coat or two of sanding sealer & let it dry before adding the pewter.

After getting turning the two parts then Sand from the wood to the pewter that way you do not drag the pewter onto the wood. You will also need to move the sand paper to a clean spot each time yes you may go through more sand paper.

Thanks for your replies. It is definately not lead. I am using new lead free pewter. When I sandpaper the pewter the sandpaper becomes black and I was hoping someone had found an easier way to sandpaper the pewter and the wood separately.

I have decided that I will leave the pewter proud instead of trying to blend the join. This will make it easier to sandpaper each without staining the wood.

alexf":1n3pyx8b said: