Using EU Power Tools in the UK

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Thanks for the link HappyHacker, very interesting. It gets even more "interesting when you move outside Europe, as I used to do, (frequently) before retiring.

You also say, QUOTE: I am in favour of radials, much less trouble when installing and testing than ring circuits ........... UNQUOTE.

I'm by no means a qualified electrician, (VERY far from it!) but when wiring here, I find the spiders web system really confusing, especially on 2 way light switches, etc! But that's just me (hammer)

In France power circuits are restricted to the number of sockets allowed and are protected by a 16amp RCD and are for want of a better description in a straight line, lighting by 5amp, most other circuits are deemed special and are protected by their own RCD of a specific rating for the appliance, all seems a lot safer to me.

Mike

Yeah Mike, pretty similar here, (today's standard).

But our house, built in the early/mid '60s has big ceramic fuse "cartridges" (not re-wireable like the old UK type). It just means you need a "supply" of 5 amp, 10 amp, and 16 amp cartridges on hand (not that they blow that often - usually when I'm fiddling around doing something I shouldn't be)!

Like UK, we need an "approved" electrician to do the work, or at least to sign it off after he checks.

AES

May be an idea to get a set of twin pole RCD's to replace them with? I assume that where you are use twin pole?