I think I need joinery

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sunnybob

wysiwyg
Reaction score
I made an understairs cupboard a while ago. As you can see it was made entirely of white melamine chipboard.
It served its purpose but I think i can do better now, but need advice on wood choices.

the left side is merely a hinged door. The right side pull out is about 4 foot deep by 30" wide. the drawer is on four castors and can be pulled all the way out.
To match the rest of the furniture the fronts will need to be either white melamine again or beech.

But what to make all the internals from? Softwood, hardwood, some kind of board?
remember, I'm not good with fancy joints, keep it simple for me please.
small stairs.jpg

small cupboard.jpg

Attachments

• small stairs.jpg
    small stairs.jpg
    90.3 KB · Views: 292
  • small cupboard.jpg
    small cupboard.jpg
    101.8 KB · Views: 290
If you're potentially keeping the fronts as white melamine, what's your reason for wanting to change what you have? They seem to be perfectly good, but it's there something else you don't like about them?

I made them quickly (which translates to badly).
I used second hand castors from an old bed, just screwed bits of melamine here there and everywhere for bracing.
Where I ironed on the edges there are many small chips.
The picture doesnt show the true horrors of a close up inspection.
I am no longer proud of it and think I can now do better and want to.

I would like to remake the tray in real wood if feasible, fit proper castors, and maybe even make the front panels in wood if that can be done without turning it into a 10 ton monster that needs a motor to drive it.
But I have no idea how to achieve that.

sunnybob":3on3mqkp said:
I'm not good with fancy joints, keep it simple for me please.