Doorknob advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

El Barto

👍
Reaction score
Hello,

I had a request from a family friend to make a couple of bun shaped door knobs. I have some nice oak of which I was going to use but they've also suggested using burrs (is it burr or burl? :? ).

So one of my questions is, is a burr/burl going to work for a doorknob? Is there anything to look out for with them? I'm by no means an expert at turning but I've done a couple of similar shapes before. I'm more concerned about the material in question, especially one I haven't used before.

Second question, these knobs are for a swinging glass door, can anyone suggest a way of attaching them? I was thinking some sort of very short threaded rod in the middle that both knobs screw in to.

Any help most welcome!

Burr or burl normally turns very nicely as it is a tight curly grain, simple fininsh with oil always looks good and is hard wearing, if you use a screw chuck to mount them on it will also five you a centre for threaded rod to be eopxied in place. nice simple project which will look good. if on glass doors consider a felt back to protect the glass where the wood meets and will give a nice clean look from the reverse.

If you've not done much turning then be careful to take light cuts - like any thread, a screw chuck will strip if there is too much torque applied.

Burr here and burl in the US. The burr has grain in all directions as long as you take it easy and it is solid there should be no problems. Not having seen the doors I will leave the fitting to you

Seem to be a number of examples online of using burr for handles so seems others have done it successfully.

F.

Thanks fellas. Appreciate it. Unfortunately I have misplaced my chuck so this whole thing is now out the window (unless anyone wants to sell me one). :roll: