Barn find.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MikeG.

Established Member
Reaction score
Literally.

We were looking around an old farm shed with a farmer friend of ours a few days ago (trying to find a gate.....another story), when we stumbled across an old washstand. It was covered in rubbish, and in a parlous state, but it went straight in the back of the van. Here it is in all its glory:

q691BgK.jpg

Now, I'm thinking early 20th century. Edwardian, late Victorian. I'm no expert, so what do you reckon? The brass drawer handle gives something of a clue:

9V8TQnG.jpg

It's walnut. Well, unless you guys tell me otherwise:

wFfSvsm.jpg

WEYkH5T.jpg

It's been slathered in 2 different colours of green paint, has some whitewash on it, and it was stripped in caustic soda about 30 years ago. Only a couple of the glue joints haven't failed. Unfortunately, it was riddled with woodworm, including plenty of active ones. I've sloshed some anti-worm jollop over it a couple of times, but this damage means that there is no point trying to restore it. Oh, and here's the point: this is going to go in our bathroom, and serve its original purpose. We have the original marble top.

It's got a bit of a structural issue or two:

2jfwjYJ.jpg

N4AsGbI.jpg

So, can anyone help me with the date? And what would you do with it?

Those photos don't show just how much worm damage there is. I don't think there is any way to restore it such that it could be lacquered or similar. I have a feeling that it will end up with a coat of chalk paint. One way or another it is going to be in use in my bathroom next week.

MikeG.":j7219sdo said: