Have I messed up my polishing?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GregShelton

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

After having applied a good 10 coats of water-based satin polyurethane finish to a selection of different wood species (veneers) in order to practice finishing techniques, I finally summoned up the courage to rub one of them out.
I am at a loss to assess the success of this first attempt as I have no real knowledge of finishing and finish types (hence why I need to learn and practice!) and so I don't know if what I now have is a satin and whether or not I have done the job well enough.
The sample is walnut (European I think) and after applying the 10 coats, I then wet sanded lightly with 320, then 600, then 1000 and finally 2000 grit before adding a final sweep of paste wax and buffing with a pad.
The surface is smooth and feels great but in certain lights and at certain angles I can see feint scratch marks. When I look at it straight on, the only sign there is a finish comes in the form of a darker hue and the sample only shows a bit of shine when looked at from a slanted angle. Is that what a satin should look like or do I need to try again?
(PS - also, there are terrible witness lines all around the edges from where I have sanded with excess enthusiasm but I'm only just starting out right?!)