Which Router for a Homemade Router Table

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

philc71

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a beginner more or less and I'm looking at building a router table, I'm interested in whether a 1/4 Router is ok for a router table or if I should really look at a 1/2 Router.

Ideally I don't want to spend over £100 for one and whilst I've been surfing ebay there doesn't seem like much to choose from so given I might end up buying a new Router which should I go for?

What's wrong with routers such as bosch pof 1200, Draper 20507?

Cheers,
Phil.

Depends on your definition of "ok".

A key factor is that you can use both 1/4 inch and 1/2 inch bits in a 1/2 inch router.

I'd concentrate more on the lift mechanism you're using. Do you need a router with a mechanism built in, or are you making one?

Yeah that's a good question, I had thought about simplicity and had seen ppl use car jacks

I'd actually argue that the simplest but more expensive option is something like a triton, with a built in mechanism, and that any diy solution will be more complex but cheaper. A half way house is something like a trim router where you can mount the base under the table and twist the router in its base to adjust the height, however you're limited to the low power of a 1/4 inch trim router.

If it were me, I'd be looking on ebay for a second hand triton TRA001 or MF001.

I have the Triton and it works ok in a table. But if I was going to do it again, I'd just buy a router motor like the one below and a DIY lift mechanism (probaly the one Jay Bates uses). It seems a waste to have a handheld router under the table, and more so, it takes up more space and has annoyances like the power mechanism, plunge mechanism and lock mechanism.

https://www.rutlands.co.uk/sp+woodworki ... ds+rtx5003