Union Graduate chuck options??

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hooberbear

Reaction score
Hello!

To set the scene, I'm new to both the forum and to woodturning.

I have been fortunate to find a Union Graduate lathe complete with a selection of quality chisels. The lathe has the L/H thread outboard spindle for turning larger stock (p'raps all Graduate's do?) and it came with 8 face-plates and a Pratt 3 jaw chuck. Although the chuck jaws are reversible, there doesn't appear to be any way to mount any additional jaw options?

Having had a quick eyeball over the web, there appears to be few available options for a new chuck with a 1.5" 6 tpi thread size to suit my lathe's spindle. I see that there is an exert available that will mount on both the R/H & L/H thread. I can't quite visualise how that works, but it would seem (from a total novice) that this might be very useful and, depending on the male thread chosen, this may open up my options.

I envisage that the majority of work on the lathe will be chuck/face-plate mounted as opposed to spindle work. I would, given time, like to turn some large bowls/platters.

I'm sure that many forum members will have the same machine that I have, or, if not, have experience of different chucking systems and I would really appreciate any advice or opinions that you may wish to share..............collett chuck vs scroll chuck?........... direct thread chuck vs exert?.....

I'd also be interested to hear If anyone knows of any suitable new or used chuck's that're sitting around gathering dust..and a heads-up for a Graduate bowl turning tool rest would be very well received too :) .

Oh, I live 20 miles north of Swansea if this is of any relevance?

Thanks, H