Workshop Electrics

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

J_Ashley

Established Member
Reaction score
I’m planning a new workshop that is to be built and am trying to make sure I have given due consideration to everything. I have very little experience with electrics, and although I’m not building the workshop ultimately I need to give directions/advice and so I need to be sure of myself first.

My woodworking so far has been limited to hand tools and the occasional power tool, so nothing that a normal house plug socket wouldn’t handle. However, in the new workshop I’m planning on kitting myself out with a couple of pieces of machinery and also the necessary dust extraction, so I imagine that things could get power intensive at times.

The highest powered machine I would probably run would be the sander at just over 1kW. However, at the same time the chip extractor will need to be running, which is another 1.5kw. Again, there may then be a host of other things on in the background, e.g. lights, heater, dehumidifier. I think this should represent the peak power usage. If it’s worth mentioning, no piece of kit should require 3 phase power.

The workshop will be at the bottom of the garden, and most people talk about just installing electrics that run from the house. However, I really have no idea as to what that means in terms of the options it gives me. Probably somewhat naively, I’m fearing that I accidently end up with some glorified extension lead installed!

Any advice of what I should be getting installed would be much appreciated.