Sycamore cut down, what bits are best for turning?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eifers

Reaction score
Hi folks
Have just had a sycamore trimmed of some fairly hefty branches..from about 35cm accross and smaller..just wondering whats worth keeping for woodturning, as am a total novice? Much thanks in advance

20180406_172809_zpszy8aoctl.jpg

All of it can be used, just depends on what your aiming to make and the size will dictate what you can make.
First job though is to cut it up in a manner that will keep splitting to a minimum as it dries especially on the big stuff, if you leave it as is the ends will soon be a mass of splits from the outside towards the centre. I hope that my picture appears somewhere here, it's a disc about 10" diameter that I cut off the end of a trunk, I ran the chainsaw down to the centre and left it as an experiment. The chainsaw kerf was parallel at the time so you can see how much it has moved during drying. You don't want to cut it that way with a view to turning a bowl.

I'd cut it into lengths (the same length as the diameter plus a bit) and then split/saw them down the centre to make two rough bowl blanks. Seal the ends if you like and put them somewhere that they're not going to dry too quickly.
You're probably itching to make something straight away, if so roughly turn and leave to dry, it's going to move a lot.
HTH.

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    140.7 KB · Views: 148
I was going to say, for turning I thought it was more a case of what can't you use :)