Thinning water based lacquer for airbrushing

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sihollies

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I have recently bought a small airbrush (0.5mm) and compressor with the ambition of acheiving a good streak free finish on my small projects.
I am completely new to airbrushing, and was wondering if anyone could could advise on how to determine the dilution ratio when using a water based lacquer.
I have some Mylands HB waterbased lacquer in stock, that I intend to experiment with.
On first attempt, I diluted it with 5% water, as I am sure I have read that this is the maximum recommended dilution ratio for water based finishes, but the airbrush just spluttered and failed to do much. I did up the pressure slightly, but it didnt do much. (May initial pressure was about 30psi).

Any advise would be massively appreciated .

Simon

Nothing leaps out from that Simon, a 0.5mm needle should be good for a 1 1/2" or 2" spray pattern, there's no need to go higher than 30 psi, and 5% thinning is a good starting point.

Given the weather we've been having lately I'm wondering about the temperature where you're spraying? Viscocity and temperature are closely related, so if you're spraying in an unheated shed or garage it may well simply be too cold. Also drying times can become problematic as the temperature drops.

After that I'm afraid I'd be looking at "user error"! There are just so many little things that can go wrong with spraying, from your equipment to your technique, that I'd suggest cleaning everything down and checking all the basics step by step.

Thanks for the reply
:-D
It certainly wouldn't surprise me if it is user error!
For info: I was in quite a warm environment,.
So if all the figures (dilution, pressure etc) look good to you, I will just experiment more.

Thanks again
simon