Paint gun & compressor suggestions/advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sihollies

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I am considering buying a paint gun and compressor and am sure you could advise me well.
I am a hobbyist & generally make small items, such as jewellry boxes and marquetry pictures, which i normally finish with a brush and water based lacquer/varnish with pretty good results, (although quite time consuming).
A colleague suggested I should invest in a gun and compressor after stating he had great results from using the gun technique.
I have no knowledge whatsoever regarding spray finishing and would happily accept any advice, that this forum could offer, whether negative or positive about this technique.

Many thanks in advance
Simon

Although I have nothing in the way of an answer to this thread, I would like to register an interest. I too brush water based lacquers with reasonable results but I often think I might like to use a spray set up. A quiet compressor for inside use you be a major consideration for me.

Have a read of this thread: hvlp-investigation-and-review-t97520.html not the quietest solution, but certainly better at spraying than a compressor, unless you take into account the other things that a compressor can be used for, also have a look at a small air brush, they may be better suited to small pice's, like box's and the like, used for cake decoration, very small and controllable.

Mike

If its for smaller items, consider a small compressor and airbrush, less space, waste and cost.

Thanks for the advice.
It makes complete sense to get a small air brush.
I have had a quick look online and there are so many to choose from at many different prices.
Would you suggest that 'you get what you pay for' when it comes to compressors and accessories, or could anyone recommend any specific makes and models?