Advice on Sash window tooling

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

philmitres

Reaction score
:?: Hi all , Im a carpenter with a small workshop . ive got my self a spindle moulder and invested in Whitehill 96 x 55 heads and rebate heads plus 40 mm euro heads with various cutters, im trying to get into making replacement victorian styled sashes as im forever being asked for them . My question is can anybody advice me on the best cutters to make my sash mould plus scribe cutter, ive seen the CMT router cutters but im trying to make use of the spindle moulder ( No reverse on S M )
Ive got Various catologues but dont want to spend money on wrong cutters . Would be grateful for any help. Thanks

As you have a 55mm block the traditional window cutters that Axminster do will be your best bet, though they may not give as narrow a glazing bar as you need but blanks are available for custom ground profiles at a price. They don't show all the knives on their site so worth ordering a catalogue if you don't have one

There is not really anything in the 40mm euro profiles that will give a suitable ovolo profile & scribe.

And welcome to the forum but please don't post in bold.

Jason

Hi Phil

All the standard cutters for sale seem too chunky for traditional sashes. I have a number that were ground specially for the old-style Whitehill blocks as and when I needed them. I usually scribe by hand with gouge and coping sash unless there is a vast amount to do.

If you want to match the old style moulds it seems that having them specially made is the only way to go. They are more expensive but will pay for themselves in the long term - and try to standardise on one or two sizes/moulds where possible.

Hope this helps

Cheers
Malcolm