What tools does every welder need?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beau

Established Member
Reaction score
Need to buy a present for a chap who I know little about other than he is a welder by trade and spends his spare time making things and working on motor bikes. Any suggestions? My first thought as a woodworker is more clamps but is it the same in metalworking that there are never enough clamps?

I have a friend who is a welder/fabricator who never has enough clamps - He has started buying Bessey all metal F-clamps rather than more standard G-clamps. Also welding magnets, he never has enough of those. I guess it depends if he works in his own workshop or for a larger operation that is already well-equipped.

magnetic 90s
welders pliers
tip cleaners (if he does gas welding)
tig finger
torch stand.

have fun. :)

jw00d":2hrnfzrp said:
I have a friend who is a welder/fabricator who never has enough clamps - He has started buying Bessey all metal F-clamps rather than more standard G-clamps. Also welding magnets, he never has enough of those. I guess it depends if he works in his own workshop or for a larger operation that is already well-equipped.

I was eyeing those Bessey clamps so sounds like I am on the right track. He does work in a well equipped place but dont think he can do his own projects there.

Edit. Clamps ordered

Thanks chaps.
Not sure what you were on about Phil but I am nervously asking you to explain or is not for family viewing?

Working on bikes?

- Blue Roll
- Brake cleaner
- Carb cleaner
- Blue Roll
- Chain lube
- Copperslip
- A box of black or orange nitrile gloves
- Blue Roll
- Stubby tools, especially a ratchet
- Washer selection box
- O-ring selection box
- Blue Roll

novocaine":3gyxhm83 said:
tip cleaners (if he does gas welding)

Also for refreshing contact tips on a mig.