Kity K5 combi machine

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hope I am doing this correctly, Lons, this is plantagenist asking again for a copy of the K5 instruction manual. Sorry I didn't get back to you but have been ill, and couldn't get on this forum using my old sign in hence the new name.

The K5 Combi Machine is the one with cream legs and body, it needed oiling to loosen parts, but belt is fine and have spares, the spindle morticer is my problem so need the manual to show me how to loosen it off.

Thanks for your advice and help in the past.

Plantagenist

Hi All,
I can see this thread was started many years ago but it still looks fairly active.
15 years ago when I was a professional woodworker (changed job 10years ago) I was offered a used Kity combi machine for next to nothing (£100 I think). I bought it because although it was much too small and dinky at that time it seemed rude not to and I thought that one day in the future it might be useful - and that day has come! I have no manual which isn't too much of a problem but it looks to me as if the thicknesser should be able to run at 2 speeds. The spindle that the belt runs on has 2 distinct diameters and the 'drive pulley(?)' on the thicknesser can be moved to 2 positions so that in theory the belt can be put on either diameter. However, for this to work something would also need to move so that the belt lined up with the different diameters when moved but at present I cannot see how this can be done. I'm not sure what model the machine is despite hours of trawling around the web reading about different models. It sounds like it is most like a K5 but it has written on the green stand 'Bestcombi'. It has one motor which drives all the machines laid out on a hammerite green board: saw; spindle moulder; planer (and slot mortice attachment) and thicknesser.