Tool restoration; how far should we go?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

memzey

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Please let me start by saying a couple of things - firstly I'm an amateur woodworker looking to develop his skills. I am not a collector by any means however I do have a preference for vintage tools. This is partially down to economics but also because I have found in my limited experience that old tools tend to be very well made and that most new "innovations" are a bit gimmicky as opposed to actually useful. Secondly I have never bothered to tend to the aesthetics of any of my tools. My MO is to sharpen, fettle when needed then use. That's it. I don't really want to waste too much time on looks (my wife sees evidence of this every time I get dressed :)) or obsessing over flatness or whatever. I have recently had a tool come into my possession however that has made me reconsider this stance if only just for this particular piece:

This enormous slab of rust is an early (possibly type 6) Stanley No. 8. It is of the vintage that I like as the frog is fixed and the machined mating areas between the casting and the frog are large. It has a low knob and tote that are both rosewood. Now this plane came to me very cheaply so it doesn't really owe me anything but before I could put it to use I had to address the rust on the top of the casting. The sole by comparison is remarkably sound. In so doing I discovered that almost all of the japaning had gone leaving little to protect the plane from another attack by the rust monster:

Here you can see what I mean:

The lever cap and cap iron also need a lot of work:

The toe of the plane is also in a bad way but the knob is not too bad: