Plans

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Garno

Grumpy Old Git
Reaction score
Hi newbie here to both these forums and to scroll sawing.

How long was it before you became a good enough to start a printed plan?

I confess I am unsure what it is you are asking

As in all things, learn as much as you can about the subject before leaping in, but at the end of the day we are all different and will all start at differing points as and when we feel ready

I see no reason why you can't start immediately, you will soon learn the right and wrong way to do things

Unless you have access to someone who can help you along the way

There are a huge number of videos on you tube which are well worth ploughing through

Garno":zj1nzzbm said:
Sorry,
I meant making something from a plan.

Well you have to start somewhere, so why not find a simple plan and give it a go?

You may surprise yourself.

Good luck!

Sorry, I'm also a bit confused by your question....

You ask how long till one can work from a plan/pattern but I can't imagine how one could work without a plan/pattern.

I started with patterns from the Steev Good website - https://scrollsawworkshop.blogspot.co.uk/.

Pick a simple one (there are loads to choose from), stick it to a cheap bit of plywood and have a bash. What's the worst that can happen? You end up with a bit of firewood, hardly the end of the world. In fact, it's almost inevitable, I'm sure everyone on the forum has made their fair share of firewood ( I even have a wood burner in my workshop - ha ha ).

Here are the very first pieces I made on my scrollsaw.

IMG_0160.jpg