Moderators: Random Orbital Bob, nev, CHJ, Noel, Charley

By DomD
MikeG. wrote:Great to see your progress, Dom. Like you, I'm always pleased to get out of the ground and start doing "the fun bits".

The concrete definitely stressed me out a bit just because I have never done anything like that before; probably quite a big job for a first.

Quick question on windows. The second hand uPVCs I bought do not come with sills, so I assume along with 5mm on each side for packing I add 40mm height in the opening for standard uPVC sills. This is the only video of UK windows being installed in a timber frame I can find - does that look like the correct method?

Thanks
Last edited by DomD on 11 Aug 2019, 08:15, edited 1 time in total.
By ManowarDave
Can't speak for timber frame but have put in the odd one over the years to brick. The only concern I'd have with timber is over packing the spacers. If the timber swells you might struggle to open the window.

If you are looking at using expanding foam, mask off REALLY well. Sticks like dung to a blanket. And never, ever try to clean it up before it sets...DAMHIKT. After that one experience I've always just used frame sealant to fill the gap.

BTW, his saw in that video had me reaching for a scotch brite pad and some WD40 :D

Dave
By DomD
ManowarDave wrote:Can't speak for timber frame but have put in the odd one over the years to brick. The only concern I'd have with timber is over packing the spacers. If the timber swells you might struggle to open the window.

If you are looking at using expanding foam, mask off REALLY well. Sticks like dung to a blanket. And never, ever try to clean it up before it sets...DAMHIKT. After that one experience I've always just used frame sealant to fill the gap.

BTW, his saw in that video had me reaching for a scotch brite pad and some WD40 :D

Dave
I will make sure not to pack too tight.