Planer thicknesser advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jaybo

Reaction score
Morning, I am fairly new to woodworking but I am looking at purchasing a planer thicknesser. I have been looking at the Clarke machines, can anyone offer any advice on these or any other brand machines as don’t want to make a mistake in purchasing one that is not suitable for the job.
Thanks in advance.

I'm afraid it's not really good news. Unless you're going to spend upwards of £600 for something new like a Record PTS260, then you're going to be disappointed with what is on offer. All those cheaper models (sub £300), whether it be Clarke, Titan, Erbauer, Charnwood, Sip etc, all suffer from problems with getting the tables parallel, which is vitial for it to operate correctly.

You'd be much better off getting a second hand offering of something like anElektra Beckum, which can be had for under £400 if you're lucky. If the funds won;t stretch that far, then I'd advise waiting and saving up.

Thats a little harsh transatlantic. We dont actually know what he wants the machine for yet.

If he has ambition to produce fine hardwood furniture then yes the Clarke is going to be a long way from cutting the mustard. If he has a hobby desire to flatten and straighten a few softwood parts on an occasional weekend, then a number of the models you list will likely be very suitable.

Oh, and welcome to the forum Jaybo. I am sure a number of opinions from members will be along shortly. In the meantime the more you can tell us about what you aim to do the better the advice you will get.

I am just looking at doing some cost saving and buying some hardwood lumber to grade myself and more than likely some softwood, it’s not desperate to purchase at the moment as currently on with building a rocking horse and in between that doing some lathe work.