New Workshop needs new Table saw

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Leecharles

Reaction score
Complete newbie here.
As retirement looms I am setting up a home workshop. Lucky enough to have a 60 foot detached single story building that will become the hallowed ground. First project will be building the work benches.
My first purchase needs to be a good table/panel saw.
I don't mind second hand or new up to £1200 and I don't have 3 phase.
I'm totally confused with all the mixed reviews so can anyone offer some up to date recommendations from personal experience please?
Lee

I recommend a sedgewick ta315 with sliding table.
I'm on my second one now(first had no sliding table) . A cracking machine, simple to adjust, solidly built, accurate and does not need 4 men to move ( if or when you rearrange your workshop!).
Should get for your budget with a little patience.

You say you don't have 3 phase, but does that mean you are opposed to buying a 3 phase machine for at least half the price if not less than that, and just buy yourself a VFD/inverter for a hundred quid or so to put on it.?
Do you plan on running a business with employees?
These are not recommended because they hold a charge.
I have two three phase machines, a 24" bandsaw and 12" startrite 275 that run from 13a plugs , these are less taxing on your supply, as the draw is mostly on start-up of an induction motor, and these things have a soft start feature.

There are plenty of folks here who have documented installing a vfd/inverter... (tomato/tomato)
on this forum, especially with the startrite 275, so you will see how easy they are to hook up.
more than likely the cheapest vfd will be for a dual voltage motor, which means can run on 240v and 380v three phase.
These figures are stamped into the motor name plate.
Dual voltage motors are common so look for 240v .or a triangle (delta) symbol.