New saw advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bacms

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I embarked on the woodworking journey a while back with your help. I have mainly been building plywood cabinets and so far my track saw and router have been more than enough for the stuff I was building. However, I am now upgrading for simple plywood boxes to building frames and joinery work (previously done all my joinery using pocket screws). I am finding the track saw a bit too much of a pain to work as doing repeat cuts of the same length takes quite a long setup time and it is really unpractical especially for beveled cuts.
With that in mind, I am now considering either a mitre saw or a table saw for this task. I work in a garage of a rented house so saying space is limited is an understatement. Moreover, good dust collection is a must as again the small space makes clutter a huge problem.
Which one of the two types of saw would you recommend for my purpose and if you could please list a few models it would be even better. Have around £500 for this.

A £500 mitre saw will give far cleaner and more reliably accurate cross cuts than a £500 table saw. It's also a lot more compact in a small space, it can be folded up and stored on a shelf when not in use.

But you can't rip with a mitre saw, nor can it deal with with wide panels, so a table saw is more versatile.

The other option is to make yourself a simple shooting board and trim the ends of your rails and stiles that way, but shooting boards are a notorious woodworking rabbit hole, don't go down unless you're prepared to spend quite some time there!

Your other option if you do a lot of cross cuts and only the occasional rip would be a radial arm saw. You can then rip material with either your track saw or the RAS, and they are extremely accurate for cross cuts.