Meranti for furniture/cabinet making?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

memzey

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi gang,

I was mooching around one of my local timber yards and spotted a beautifully figured board of Meranti:
6lJ5BBR.jpg

YwfTRFv.jpg

W9kiNFW.jpg

Ofcl0ac.jpg

It's 2 1/8" x 6 1/4" by about 8' long and cost about £40. Now I've never used Meranti before so did a quick search and apparently it's a joinery wood and often used for things like windows. Has anyone used it for interior project like furniture or cabinet making? If so are there any things I should prepare myself for when working it, etc?

Thanks in advance for any help!

I've used Meranti in yacht fit outs, but never for furniture making. However, if I found some stunning Meranti boards like yours then that would all change in a heartbeat!

Great find.

Thanks guys.
Custard; as you've worked this stuff before do you have any guidance on its working and finishing characteristics? I appreciate that a yacht fit out is likely to be different to a small cabinet for example but any info would be greatly appreciated.
I do have a scraper by the way Chris but I'll probably first try mangling it with a smoother with a closely set cap iron :)

BTW the pictures really don't do the board any justice at all. I felt like I was walking out of the yard with an 8 foot 3D hologram!

I don't do veneering, but if that were mine, I'd be tempted to change the habit of a lifetime and slice it up thinly. I'd also break my "always finish with a blade" habit, and make liberal use of a belt sander. It would maybe pair quite nicely with a bit of decent sycamore or maple.