Mafell MT55 in the hands of a plunge saw newbie

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Farmer Giles

The biggest tool in the box
Reaction score
I've had this a couple of days now but have only just got around to play with it. I'm new to plunge saws and holey tables and dogs so be gentle with me :)

So far I have the holey board on a pair of tressles, a couple of super duper parf dogs, some dogs that came free with the board, a couple of axminster clamps and the saw.

P1060930.jpg

Newbie mistake number one, "the saw blade interferes with the plastic chip guard on the guide rail".

P1060926.jpg

I now know that this is intentional and you are supposed to plunge through this before first use to get zero clearance, it would be handy if this was in the manual.

It briefly mentions some guide rail adjustment in the manual but these knobs just take out any slack so the saw fits snugly on the guide rail. There are two, one fore, one aft. Here's the fore knob.

P1060925.jpg

and what it adjusts, it just takes up any slack between the protrusion on the rail and the slot in the saw base.

P1060931.jpg

Play time over today, I shall plunge through the plastic strip tomorrow, I wanted more time to research this before tearing a great rip in it :)

Cheers
Andy

Attachments

• P1060930.jpg
    P1060930.jpg
    73.3 KB · Views: 2,550
  • P1060926.jpg
    P1060926.jpg
    59.8 KB · Views: 2,550
  • P1060925.jpg
    P1060925.jpg
    78.6 KB · Views: 2,548
  • P1060931.jpg
    P1060931.jpg
    72.9 KB · Views: 2,551
Evening sir, how are you?
Does the adjustment these knobs allow take care of the potential gap between the plastic strip and any new blade fitted, or do you need to fit a new strip with any blade change?