kitchen cabinet grade and thickness

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Morning Fellows !

I am quite new to wood working and planning to build our kitchen cabinets. Plan is the make frameless ones with birch ply (Using pocket holes and glue). Was looking around and saw BB grade 18mm in Travis Perkins for £45. To start off just wanted to know if my selection of Birch ply (grade and thickness) is the right one. Also wanted to know if the price is fair one.

Thanks in advance :)

Welcome, first of all.

Its not the worlds most difficult project although its not the most interesting either - I'm just on the tail end of making my own and finding it pretty tedious (sanding, sanding and more sanding),

18mm is spot on. Some commercial units use 16mm but thats the cheap seats.

BB might be a bit hit/miss regarding surface defects. Depends on the quality of finish you're looking for. If its going to be painted you should be ok (allow for some wastage) but if its going to have a clear finish you'll probably end of up dodging around some unslightly knots etc. If you can go and see it in the flesh.

FYI - go on www.cutwrights.co.uk whee they have a great nesting programme; put in all your measurements into a quote, wait a few minutes and then when it comes through you can print off the sheets which will show you the most efficient layout for cutting. I used these guys to spply the vmdf for my kitchen.

You'll need a lot of space to layout all this stuff - I'm tripping up over panels everywhere. Good luck.

learning_rocks":112k887v said:
Was looking around and saw BB grade 18mm in Travis Perkins for £45. To start off just wanted to know if my selection of Birch ply (grade and thickness) is the right one. Also wanted to know if the price is fair one.