Incra Mitre Gauge or Sliding Carriage for Table Saw?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bp122

Expert at Jibber-Jabber
Reaction score
Hello everyone.

I'm a newbie to both, UKWorkshop and Woodworking with power tools.

After moving from a second floor flat to a house with a garage, I finally got myself a small Table saw (Axminster AC216TS)
Made a stand for it to sit on, just about assembled it to realize that the saw didn't come with a mitre gauge (even an entry level one)

I looked online, there are a few options out there.
Everyone raves about the Incra mitre gauges (V120 / V27) which cost about £99 and £75 respectively from wood workers workshop.
I also looked at the Axminster sliding carriage, which is £129.

Now some people say making a sled from scratch is better, some say making a sled with Incra or other precision mitre gauge is better, others say sliding carriage is better and safer. I intend to buy once and get the best I can possibly afford (new or used!)

What would be a real difference to a newbie like me where the cost difference is just £30? The extra space for the sliding carriage isn't a huge issue for me either.

The main projects I'm planning are small cabinets, boxes, photo frames, shelves, slats - in the short term.
Long term I want to expand on these.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Best regards and thank you.
bp

I have an Incra V120 and I love it. I added an Incra telescopic fence and flip stop to it which took it's total cost way beyond £129.

I also have a dual function sled; put it in one way and it gives me zero clearence cuts at 90 degrees, rotate it 180 degrees and it allows 45 degree cuts. Incra style sliders can be bought off that well known auction site for around £9 for an 18" length.