Home made saw bench.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Retired

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi,

A while ago I sold my Startrite combination woodworking machine and although I have a rebuilt Shopsmith and big DeWalt RAS I wanted a decent dedicated rip saw bench so just for interest designed and built a saw bench to suit my needs. I'm a mechanical engineer by trade and am used to this kind of work; I stress engineer and not a "fitter" I was taught by the National Coal Board to use my head and my hands over 50 years ago and the training still is with me.

My Startrite had 3 x 3hp motors and the saw would bog down on thick oak so time to sort this out and to increase the motor power and saw blade diameter. I settled on a 4hp (3KW) 240V single phase motor and a 12" blade diameter. The very heavy duty spindle to be driven by two SPZ belts. New SKF bearings were installed to the spindle. I have a number of Whitehill moulding blocks so why not make a dual purpose machine a saw bench and moulder whilst I'm at it?

I bought new black iron for the framework and not at the time having my metal cutting band-saw rigged up a crude stand allowing my cheap 9" angle grinder to act as a cut off saw which worked very well indeed saving lots of heavy work; my hacksaw and engineers files also saw lots of action. The frame is of welded construction; my 180A oil cooled Pickhill Bantam (Oxford) welder was a joy to use on 2.5mm dia electrodes at around 100A. All welds were fettled as were all sharp edges using a small angle grinder and files.