Hobbyist woodwork need help!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CallumChapman

Reaction score
Hello ladies and gents! I have just started getting into woodworking as a hobby and now with a wide selection of tools and equipment I have started to gather, my biggest issue is obtaining wood!

Let me further explain, timber in the UK so far as to my research from well known timber merchants and builders supplies have been very expensive, and absolutely no where seems to sell hardwood which is unbelievable prices along with plywood sheets? Is it because I am new to woodworking that this seems expensive or is the same experience for other woodworking hobbyists in the UK?

Much appreciated for your time!
CALLUM

Nope, As you have found out, Wood is Very expensive! Try skips, with permission of course. Pallets for practice and even charity shops for old furniture

Hi Callum.
Pughs in Ledbury have timber and tool sales from time to time, the timber is very good value providing you can transport it yourself. They have just had a sale ( I got three boards of elm for £50 ) so the next one will not be for at least a few months but if you sign up on their website you will get a reminder before the sale.

http://www.hjpugh.com/new.html

Yup nice wood is expensive all right, really nice wood even more so. When buying from a proper yard it is worth remembering that longer pieces have a premium attached to them; short pieces (offcuts) and 'scantlings' can be quite modestly priced even if something particularly nice and exotic. Since initially you'll probably make smaller stuff this can be a boon to the newly minted woodworker.