Hayward for Beginners

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Saint Simon

Established Member
Reaction score
As a relative beginner to all this making things out of wood, and as a self-taught beginner too, books have been critical to my progress. Up until yesterday I lent heavily on The Wood Joiners Handbook, Allen, and Illustrated Cabinetmaking, Hylton. Both really good, detailed books.
However, digging through the small library of books in my school D&T prep. room yesterday I stumbled upon Cabinet Making for Beginners by CH Hayward. Life will never be the same again! I have others of his books but this was new to me and what a revelation. As with the other books I have by him the illustrations are beautifully clear and he seems to cover, in what is quite a small book, all the key issues I feel I need guidance with.
If, by the time I hang up my dovetail saw for the last time, I have mastered just some of this "for Beginners" book I will be very content.
Simon

Hayward had the enviable gift of being able to convey quite complex information in a few simple words. He also had the benefit of a full apprenticeship in the trade. Consequently, he remains one of the finest woodworking writers of all time.

I stand to be corrected, but I vaguely recall reading on Chris Schwarz's blog that Lost Art Press are negotiating to republish some of Hayward's books. This won't happen for a couple of years - if at all - but will be very welcome if it does. Secondhand Hayward books are not available cheaply unless you're very lucky.

+1 to all of the above. I have almost all of his books, and have not had to pay over the odds for any of them, but the Schwarz effect is clearly visible in the prices being asked for some of them now.