Garage Storage/Work desk

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrPie

Reaction score
Hi all, long time occassional lurker and finally i've decided to create an account to get some advice/input on a design i'm working on for my garage. I've currently taken the week off to de-clutter my garage and create a storage solution at the back as well as a work bench for when i need to tinker with things.

When it comes to wood working i'm an absolute amateur save for doing 'Resistant Materials' in high school back in the day. I've had a look at the type of wood i could use and have set my eyes on 4x2 CLS studding timber for the frame work and OSB 3 18mm for the sheets but i don't know if this is overkill or not enough? My sketchup is below, would appretiated any and all help!

Cheers

Attachments

• garageshelving.png
    garageshelving.png
    45.3 KB · Views: 1,264
Welcome to the forum.

OSB is not good for horizontal surfaces as it tends to sag and the exposed edges are nasty. Some cheap hardwood or shuttering plywood would be better.

I think the bench looks a bit shallow, do you have space to make it a bit deeper? 600mm is a good depth for a woodwork bench. Use two layers of 18mm MDF for the top, screwed down so you can flip it over when it gets damaged. MDF is nice and flat and suitably heavy, as you want a bench to have some mass so it doesn't move when hammering or planing on it.

As for the joinery on the bench, try and make everything as sturdy as possible using half laps or mortise and tenons if you feel adventurous.

Matthias Wandell on youtube has a good video on constructing a simple workbench. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_xJD_aylYw