Dust & chips extraction : What to buy

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Noho12C

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
hello,

going to move to a house with a garage in the coming weeks, I am planning to get some machines (finally !).
I plan to get a bandsaw and a P/T, the idea being to prepare rough timber and do the remaining work with handtools.

I have a good idea of the bandsaw and P/T i would like to get, however I'm a bit lost regarding the dust extraction (even though I have been reading extensively on different companies websites, eg Axminster and RP).

I was originally thinking of somthing like that RSDE, but i'm not sure it can really handle chips from a P/T.
Is a HVLP compulsory with a P/T ?

What are your thoughts on it, and experience if any ?

Many thanks,
Chris

I'm a bit of a novice but I personally would go with a high volume extractor.

Just bought a Fox F50 842 and it's performing brilliant on my router table which is in use a lot and produces plenty of chips / dust.

Cheaper and certainly quieter than the Record you're looking at but there will be better advice from more experienced users without a doubt.

Until recently (ie last week) I was using the smaller brother to that Record for all my machinery - and it worked well. Dust filtration was good and enough flow for the saws but it did struggle when I upgraded my pt to 300mm - I could take light cuts but it tended to clog if I wasn't careful. the noise was dreadful too.