dining table in oak

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stef

Established Member
Reaction score
yes, another one.
Been gathering info on this project for a while now, and yesterday, i started playing around with the oak i was going to use for the project.
time to finalise the plan.

so it's got to be fairly big. is there any standard traditional dimensions for dining table ?
I was going to go for 2100mmx900mm. and here is a quick sketch of how i plan to assemble the top.
Am i way off the mark ?
sketch01.jpg

Wood expands and contracts across its width, so the two end pieces and the centre piece will expand and contract one way and the remaining pieces will expand and contract the other way. This will cause you problems.........

Cheers :wink:

Paul

It may look good when finished but after a couple of seasons the joints will crack open. Have you thought of a simple plank-top?

all farmhouse tables i have seen have those two end pieces, so i would think that this is the way to do this.
why do you think the contration/expension will give me problems ?
I am not sure about the middle section (parallel to the end pieces), but this being a large table it sorts of make sense to me.
it's got to have a rustic/ farmhouse feel to it, so i dont mind the open joints.

What people are trying to tell you is to watch out for movement when you have grain going in opposite directions, I think you will have to make sure the moisture content is correct, don't ask me what it should be but I have 2 pieces of furniture in the same room, both with breadboard ends, one an expensive Oak table and the other a cheapdisplay cabinet from ebay, the table has not moved in 5 years the display cabinet has moved a great deal in just 2 years.

Here are some pics to show you

01-06-09_1305-1.jpg

01-06-09_1306.jpg