Diamond Stones

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Obi Wan Kenobi

Established Member
Reaction score
"From a long time ago in a galaxy far, far aw
I need to purchase a couple of diamond stones as I have chisels and plane blades to sharpen. The plane blades need a fair bit of work as they are in old planes that I want to restore. As I'm new to this I am not going to spend a fortune and after reading about them on the forum, I have decided to get the Ultex plates. At the moment they are on offer at ITS so are pretty reasonable too.

Which plates would be best for me, combination such as coarse/fine medium/fine etc or say one each of coarse/medium/fine of the single ones? The mega pack looks good value too.

Obi Wan :eek:ccasion5:

Obi Wan Kenobi":b9q97tol said:
Which plates would be best for me, combination such as coarse/fine medium/fine etc or say one each of coarse/medium/fine of the single ones? The mega pack looks good value too.
I missed the sales, so ended up getting a combo 300/600 and a separate 1200, for use in a Sellers style sharpening bench hook holder thing.
I really wish I'd waited and gotten separate plates for each grit, now, as they're a pain to keep popping out and flipping over!!

Personally my thoughts (for what they are worth with my inexperience etc) if you can afford the forty note outlay for the four single grits go for it. They got good reviews by Custard in comparison to his far more expensive ones. Not better obviously but good. Far more than you'd expect for the price difference.