Cross bracing unstable wood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Engineeruk

Reaction score
Hi all,

First, a caveat - I’m very new to joinery so please excuse any unintended ignorance!

I’m edge joining 3, 200mm x 38mm boards to make a small (900mm long) tabletop.

The boards are plain sawn softwood and had some bowing in their cross section, though this has reduced after being dried.

I have limited tools, so was going to dowel and glue to join the boards. However I want to keep the thickness of the tabletop to a minimum so was going to omit wooden cross bracing such as skirts or aprons.

My question was with that constraint how best to prevent the boards from bowing?

I was considering using stainless steel bar underneath the tabletop to cross brace, as the thickness required in steel would be lower compared to wood, however, not sure how effective this would be. I was also considering using steel bar internally across the entire width (much like a very long dowel) but I feel this lacks elegance.

Would appreciate any advice from those who know much more than me!

Engineeruk":1j7r0282 said:
Hi all,

First, a caveat - I’m very new to joinery so please excuse any unintended ignorance!

I’m edge joining 3, 200mm x 38mm boards to make a small (900mm long) tabletop.

The boards are plain sawn softwood and had some bowing in their cross section, though this has reduced after being dried.

I have limited tools, so was going to dowel and glue to join the boards. However I want to keep the thickness of the tabletop to a minimum so was going to omit wooden cross bracing such as skirts or aprons.

My question was with that constraint how best to prevent the boards from bowing?