carving advice needed

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

charvercarver

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all, first time poster.

I recently bought a flexcut carving knife and I'm having some troubles sharpening it. I can get it to arm hair cutting sharp with a long bevel, but the tip is then too fragile. That is it chips within a couple of hours even in the white stuff from homebase. Some of this is technique I suspect, I have never carved before (and I've seen my fiance use it like a scraper!) though I am aware that you shouldn't use the blade to pry or lever.

So I have tried to put a shorter secondary bevel on, it works to some extent but it is definitely duller than than the primary bevel. I have no experience sharpening a double beveled blade so I am wondering if it is usually the case that secondary bevels are harder to sharpen when you have two or if I am doing something wrong.

Thanks.

charvercarver":392jp2oy said:
.... but the tip is then too fragile....
Hi charvercarver, welcome to the forum.

I am no expert knife carver, or any carver really, I do carve with a knife and have had some success. When you say the tip is too fragile do you mean the edge?

I found some advice about sharpening a knife blade on a Chip Carving Forum. It went like this (roughly) :- " Use a ceramic stone, lay a flat side of the blade on the stone and raise the back edge a little, rub the blade backwards and forwards, across the edge, quickly until a burr is raised. This burr can be detected by 'flicking' a nail across the edge, not along it! Turn the blade over and repeat, until the burr is released. "