Can anybody help? I know what I want but cannot find it.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Plodmore

Established Member
Reaction score
Sorry for all the rapid hits for tips and ideas. I am new to all of this and cannot quite get my head around why some of the simplest things are not fitted as standard across the board.

I have swapped out my Ferm pinned blade holder for a slightly modified Axminster clamp (rationale covered in earlier posts). The final alterations I would really like to make are;

1. To replace the 4mm clamp bolts (the one that shuts the clamp) with a thumbturn or wing bolt like you see on the Excaliber videos. If anybody knows where I can get a couple I would appreciate it. All I can seem to find are metric 4mm threads and not (as I believe these to be) machine thread.

2. To replace the 8mm tensioning bolt with the same sort of thing.

These 2 simple upgrades will make changing blades and setting the tension piece of cake (I know the latter is a bit petty but trying to flip over the existing tensioner with the guard in place is a pain)

regards
Andrew

Better still, adapt the holders to accept a thin quick-release off a bike wheel, like a poor version of the Quickset clamps on Delta scrollsaws. Why settle for a Hegner-a-like thumbscrew?

I like the idea but do they do 4mm? I tried to get a good old fashioned wing nut and longer bolt but failed on the wing nut side of the plan.

Plodmore":3903wzi7 said:
I like the idea but do they do 4mm?

They do, but 5mm are easier to find.

I'd drill out the blade holders to 5mm.

Cut the skewer to length, get a 5mm die and cut a new thread on the cut end of the skewer.

Job done.