Buying a scrollsaw

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrianD

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I was thinking off ordering a Hegner scrollsaw for general use and more importantly to attract my sWMBO into participating in this woodworking lark. (I am not sure at the exactly what the output products are going to be........besides firewood)

I did read up a review on this versus several others and it had an excellent rating.

Blatantly, is it as good as made out and do we have any folks that have and are prepared to give some recommendations; incl. alternatives. I am prepared to spend up to approx £400 but as an absolute newbie on this topic what spec should state (I understand one needs to be specific when ordering - if I am of course).

Some strong advice and guidance required here! :roll: :shock:

(Oh yes - I do try not to buy twice where possible if you know what I mean; thus the request)

Thanks in advance.

OK now I see my budget is wrong :shock:

I am going to have to save :shock: plenty pennies here.

So I am probably looking at Hegner Multicut SEV.

This is called resetting expectations

Brian,

I can't comment on Hegner from experience only that they are reckoned to be among the very best, however, I have on of these (from Hobbies).

I haven't used it a huge amount but it is very heavy and the extra mass plus variable speed makes it run as smooth as a sewing machine. It's a lovely solid, well made bit of kit - worth looking at IMO.

cheers,

ike

I have had the 2S with variable speed for several years and it's my workhorse. If you choose the SEV it should give you many years of reliable service (and an awful lot of fun).