Block planes, buy second hand or make one?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

basssound

Established Member
Reaction score
So I'm getting more into wood work and less into metal work.
I've decided that I would like a small block plane for removing sharp edges and smoothing off butt joints ect...
Now I've seen people wax lyrical about the Stanley 220 so are they the be all and end all for a keen advanced DIY person like myself.
I'm a hgv mechanic by trade but I really wish now that I'd have got into carpentry because I enjoy making and fabricating stuff so they though came to mind about making one similar to the krenov planes.
Shoukd I make one or just go out and buy one?

What tools do you already have, as it might be a case of it’s hard to make a plane without already owning a plane?

I believe Veritas do a hardware kit that you can then make the accompanying body, so that could be a decent option.

I've got alsorts from a Dewalt table saw, old school pillar drill, track saw, air nailers, sanders and loads more, I think I've got the tools and the skill to make most things.

basssound,
There's a huge choice of blockplanes, new and secondhand. I've got 3 or 4 new and old, but the favourite is my Stanley 220. Lightweight, easy to adjust the blade, and cheap.

John

If you want one to make use of, buy a second hand one. They're about £10-20, it seems.
If you want the pride and pleasure in making one, that you may or may not use yourself later on, then make it.

A bevel up block plane would be tricky to make I reckon. There quite sophisticated tbh. They've got a shallow bed adjustable mouth in front of the blade. Tricky in wood.