Axminster M900 question.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Hi guys

Have set up me new lathe and had a play.. and one thing seems odd - the tool rest won't go more than 1 - 2mm below centre at it's lowest setting.

Im still fairly new to all this and the guy that is teaching me regularly sets the rest 10 - 20 mm lower than centre for using gouges.

I contacted Axminster's tech support and they said "why would you want to go below centre?"

If my instructor is showing me properly (and I don't doubt his word) Im faced with having to get a custom tool rest made :cry:

Any comments/suggestions?
Thanks

I found the same problem with my Axminster lathe so I bought the Sorby rest.It is a post onto which you can screw different tops, ie bowl rest, short /long rest.The post will lower far more than the Axminster rest and wasn't too expensive.

Hey Jaymar, got my Sorby toolrest this morning...and the post is about an inch too long!
I don't know what model Axminster you have, but on mine, the post won't go down far enough because it bangs into the spindle that runs through the banjo :(

Anyone know an engineer who could lob 1" off the end of a hardened steel bar?

Hi roohster, I've got the Axminster CCLB but as the instructions are for the M900 I think they are much the same. Have you tried working with the Banjo away from the rest, that is turn the banjo so that the lever is at the back of the lathe and the pivot is at the front ?works for me
Alan

Hi jaymar...
doesn't make any difference - the post that the rest screws onto hits a bar that runs all the way underneath the banjo, its not fouling the lathe bed.
Just gotta find me a metal butcher now......