Aquarium stand, couple of questions.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alekc

Reaction score
Hi, complete newbie here so be gentle :)

I am thinking about constructing an aquarium stand for relatively small aquarum (25l).

So far I came up with following design

2017-08-28 19_16_06-AquariumStand - SketchUp Pro 2017.png

but I am a bit concern about 2 pieces:

1) 3 axes joint
2017-08-28 19_18_16-AquariumStand - SketchUp Pro 2017.png

Is a bad idea to use this joint here? I was thinking about making half lap joint for the square (pink and aqua colours), once glues together cut out and join the green piece as well.

2) In theory red and green join should stop whole structure from collapsing to the left or to the right. Should I add something for protection of other directions as well (i.e. collapsing from the wall forward)?

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• 2017-08-28 19_16_06-AquariumStand - SketchUp Pro 2017.png
    2017-08-28 19_16_06-AquariumStand - SketchUp Pro 2017.png
    37.9 KB · Views: 919
  • 2017-08-28 19_18_16-AquariumStand - SketchUp Pro 2017.png
    2017-08-28 19_18_16-AquariumStand - SketchUp Pro 2017.png
    10.7 KB · Views: 919