Stenciling on wood - mistakes were made

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

matthewpetty

Reaction score
Hello all,
I'm a novice and beginner. I'm making a giant 6-foot ruler with which you can measure your kids and mark it instead of using the wardrobe door. Simple plank with markings and numbers, and the kids names.
I got a planed white wood plank (probably pine), stained it with Oak stain, and then drew the cm and inch markers with permanent marker.
I got the stencils of the numbers, stuck them down, and used a sponge dabber to apply acrylic paint. Unfortunately the paint bled under the stencil and feathered into the wood, so I sanded the paint off, re-stained as necessary, and thought about what to do.
I was going to finish the whole thing with polyurethane anyway so I applied one coat of that and let it dry. Then I stuck the stencils down again. I'd read a tip online about applying a thin layer of PVA glue mixed 2:1 with water to seal the stencil to prevent bleeding, so I did that.
Once that was dry, I applied the acrylic paint again using the sponge dabber. Once that was dry, I removed the stencils and was disappointed to see that the paint peeled away with the PVA leaving nothing behind on the wood. I am assuming that the polyurethane prevented the PVA and paint from sticking.
So now I have the ruler with index markings and a coat of polyurethane. What can I do to apply the number stencils? Do I need to sand the polyurethane to make it stick? Any tips about preventing stencil bleed?
Grateful for any help,
Matthew

not sure your asking in the best place, I'd search youtube. also i think a sponge dabber would tend to push paint under the stencil, maybe experiment with several light coats of spray paint?

We have a 13 month old grandson and I've been thinking about a measuring stick on one of the door frames.