Overhead storage needed in single garage workshop conversion

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JKM

Established Member
Reaction score
TLDR: appropriate timber and construction methods for an low profile and cost effective overhead storage area in an integral garage.

Tools available, Tracksaw (TS55), Sliding Mitre saw (KS60- not metal cutting), MFT, Domino, 0.6-1.2-1.8m levels, cheap hammer drill, 18G nailer, drill/driver and some basic hand tools.

I am completely new to woodworking but would like to start so I need some sort of workspace. Home has a single garage that is internal to a townhouse (ground floor comprises of the garage and entrance hall to the front and a utility/garden access and WC to the rear)
I want to make the garage usable as a workshop for various projects I have planned and would intend to do any woodwork in here.

The ceilings are 246cm and I am going to resist screeding the floor as its decent fresh concrete.
Walls are bare blockwork (the dense kind). Party wall has the blocks laid on their sides and internal wall they are laid vertical so half the thickness, maybe only 10cm thick.

I have 20 + of the 64L really useful boxes (71Lx44Wx31H) that I need to store which mainly contain lightweight backpacking and kayaking gear, plus the normal light but bulky stuff such as suitcases etc.

There is a separate cache of heavy gear such as car-camping gear, Heavy tents, beds, cookers etc that are rarely used but I cant bring myself to dispose of just yet. my intention was to build a wheeled chest that all these can fit into which can double up as an assembly table at a push to sit next to an mft.

So my vague plan is….