Kitty 613 bandsaw blade length confusion

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

raescruff

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm a newbie to the forum, and this my first post and what has prompted me to stop spectating and start participating!
I bought a second hand Kitty 613 bandsaw a good while ago and have finally got it set up and working. It came with a couple of blades that weren't in best nick and the first thing I did was a bit of research and purchase a couple of new ones according to machine specification (90.5 inches or 2300mm). I've just come to put one on and would you know, it doesn't fit! First I thought I'd been sent the wrong size, but measured and it is 2300mm. So I checked against the one that had come off it, which seems to fit well and is smaller at 88 inches or approx 2240mm.
I'm wondering how this might be! Wheels look original and bands in pretty good condition. Is there an adjustment or something else I'm missing that would account for this? Any advice or suggestions appreciated. Thanks very much

Have you fully wound off the tension adjustment? This will bring the top wheel down. Also ensure the blade is not caught anywhere, especially at the back of the frame.
Hope not educating your grandmother etc : )

I have a Kitty, and definitely 90.5" blades fitted.
If you measure your top and bottom wheel diameters, post your sizes, I'll compare to mind, just incase the wheels have been changed or altered.

Still stuck on my wall from when I had one ...
20230416_140252.jpg

I have a Kitty, and definitely 90.5" blades fitted.
If you measure your top and bottom wheel diameters, post your sizes, I'll compare to mind, just incase the wheels have been changed or altered.