bench vs. stand

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SaintD56

Established Member
Reaction score
Just wondering if it would be best to use factory designed stand with the scroll saw, or build your own stand, or just bolt the scroll saw to the work bench.
I myself have one with factory stand, and the other is one that I built on a fly just so that it had a place to sit in the shop. Now that I have two scroll saws, I am thinking about one bench to hold both together and to share one dust vav system. Any thoughts or ideal suggestions, I'm open to a good brain storming moment or two. Have A Great Day.

I have never used a factory stand as they cost money and being a tight woodworker I always make my own.
Having said that I was once advised by an expert that metal stands reduced vibration a lot better than a wooden stand, I don't remember the exact science behind this theory or even if it is correct but he said it was something to do with frequency of the vibrations and that metal was better.

You can see my stands in the image below they are very heavily built and on casters so that I can move about if required, they work perfectly well.
There are some scroll saws that vibrate so much that any stand needs to be bolted down to the floor.

I do discuss stands in one or other of my videos.

Attachments

• P1010740 (Medium).JPG
    P1010740 (Medium).JPG
    156.5 KB · Views: 0
by an expert that metal stands reduced vibration a lot better than a wooden stand
That sounds odd because wood can be a dense material that absorbs vibration. I made a large metalworking bench that used 4 inch fence post for the legs to make it solid, also look at the blacksmith who sits his anvil on wood.

Last edited: