Which grinder & polisher for sharpening and polishing parts.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scubadoo

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm renovating a number of old hand planes and chisels and think it's probably time i invested in a grinder and a polisher, or one machine that could do both jobs.

I don't really want to spend too much money but never like to buy anything rubbish that will pack in or not be up to the job. I have no experience of this and have until now just used water & diamond stones and a veritas jig.

I want to be able to use a soft wire wheel for removing rust and cleaning up, a buffing wheel for polishing brass and steel parts, and I also need a stone to grind a primary bevel on old chisels and plane blades. At the moment I'm polishing small metal parts with a felt pad on my rotex 90 which can be 'interesting' and doesn't really get the steel parts too shiny.

So my question would be:
1 machine or two?
what 6" or 8" wheels/what grit/brand of wheels - Norton 3x ?
how many watts should i look for as a minimum?
Any specific recommendations?

I've considered various thing by Clarke etc and these look interesting but I don't know if Sealey are any good.

So any advice, as always, would be appreciated.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Sealey-BB2002- ... r+polisher

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Sealey-BG150XW ... ch+grinder

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Sealey-BG200-9 ... ch+grinder