Wadkin radial arm saw - is this any good?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Peter G Denmark

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello woodworking friends.

I've been offered an older Wadkin BRA 14" radial arm saw for 250£. Does anyone have any experience with this?

I've seen all episodes (i think) of New Yankee Workshop, so i have a basic idea what a radial arm can do, but i don't have any first hand experience.

I have a cheap mitre saw, and was looking at getting a better DeWalt compound mitre box, but now i'm thinking that the radial arm could be an alternative.
I know it's a big and not as practical, but being an enthusiastic woodworker, my thinking is, that i can get a professional tool with loads of applications with this offer, and regular mitre saws are easy to come by later.

But maybe it one of those tools you think you're going to use a lot, but end up just taking up space?

I think its each to their own, I have a RAS and wouldn't be without it, but others would prefer a good sliding compound mitre saw, but I have both, the RAS in the shop and the other for site work.

If thats in fully working order thats a great buy for the wadkin.

The BRA cross cut is one of the best on the market but I would sa that I'm an ex Wadkin engineer.
They are very solidly built and much better than just about anything you are likely to find new. One of the main advantages are the slide rails are not part of the main arm casting so when the rails become worn they can simply be rotated 180 degrees if this hasn't already been done or they can replaced.
The electrics are basic and rarely give any major grief.

For £250 I'd say it's a steel even if you have to spend a bit of time getting it up to scratch. Most dealers would sell them for a minimum of £1650 I have recently seen a fully refurbished bra go for close to 5k

Thank you very much.