Using a vice without cutting the bench

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gebbly

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All,
I'm still fairly new to woodworking, my tools are a few hand-me-downs from my grandfather and father and some bits I have managed to pick up from car boot sales. My worktop at the moment is an old Black&Decker WorkMatehttp://www.homebase.co.uk/en/homebaseuk/black-and-decker-workmate-wm536-835189.

When sawing a piece of timber like a fence post I clamp it in the bench with the timbers marked cut line just to the right of the bench edge (I'm right handed) stand with the bench in front of me and cut.

Looking at peoples discussions of benches and vice placements, if I were to try similar on one of the nice workbenches I've seen (asuming a vice placement on the face side to the left) I would clamp the timber in the vice with the cut line to the right of the vice, stand in front of the vice and start cutting but after getting about halfway through a piece of timber the front of the saw blade beyond the timber would start cutting into the workbench. What is the technique to avoid this?
Do you cut part way down and then rotate the timber?
Do you place the timber with the cut line to the left of the vice and stand off to the left of the vice and indeed workbench? (If this is the case if I ever had a workbench and a shed I would need to remember to leave a lot of space to the left of the workbench for pieces to stick out.
Do you angle the timber in the wood so it slopes up at an angle so that where I cut would be wholly above the workbench?

Sorry if its a complete beginners question but, well, I'm a complete beginner :)

Gebbly":2oecexke said:
What is the technique to avoid this?
Well one way would be to do any sawing like this on sawhorses and not at the bench.